Join The Club Rugby rules

Rugby World Cup

This year’s Rugby World Cup will be the 9th one and will be held in Japan. From 20 September to 2 November, 20 nations will be competing with one another for the biggest Rugby trophy. The announcement in September 2015, told us that the first and the last venues will take place at Ajinomoto Stadium in Chofu, and Nissan Stadium in Yokohama.

This year New Zealand will have to defend their crown against 19 other countries.  They have won the championship already 3 times, which makes them one of the strongest team in this tournament. After the qualification, it’s easy to now determine the upcoming matches. Australia and South Africa have won the championship two times and now will try to make it even with New Zealand. Also, England, Ireland, Wales, France, and Scotland will be looking forward to taking advantage in the knockout stage.

The opening of the tournament will be Japan against Russia. The final will take place six weeks later on Saturday to give the crown to the world champions.

Pool Stage

Match 1: Japan vs Russia (Pool A), Tokyo Stadium; Friday 20 September, 7:45pm (11:45am BST)

Match 2: Australia vs Fiji (Pool D), Sapporo Dome; Saturday 21 September, 1:45pm (5:45am BST)

Match 3: France vs Argentina (Pool C), Tokyo Stadium; Saturday 21 September, 4:15pm (8:15am BST)

Match 4: New Zealand vs South Africa (Pool B), International Stadium Yokohama; Saturday 21 September, 6:45pm (10:45am BST)

Match 5: Italy vs Namibia (Pool B), Hanazono Rugby Stadium; Sunday 22 September, 2:15pm (6:15am BST)

Match 6: Ireland vs Scotland (Pool A), International Stadium Yokohama; Sunday 22 September, 4:45pm (8:45pm BST)

Match 7: England vs Tonga (Pool C), Sapporo Dome; Sunday 22 September, 7:15pm (11:15am BST)

Match 8: Wales vs Georgia (Pool D), City of Toyota Stadium; Monday 23 September, 7:15pm (11:15am BST)

Match 9: Russia vs Samoa (Pool A), Kumagaya Rugby Stadium; Tuesday 24 September, 7:15pm (11:15am)

Match 10: Fiji vs Uruguay (Pool D), Kamaishi Recovery Memorial Stadium; Wednesday 25 September, 2:15pm (6:15am BST)

Match 11: Italy vs Canada (Pool B), Fukuoka Hakatanomori Stadium; Thursday 26 September, 4:45pm (8:45am BST)

Match 12: England vs USA (Pool C), Kobe Misaki Stadium; Thursday 26 September, 7:45pm (11:45am BST)

Match 13: Argentina vs Tonga (Pool C), Hanazono Rugby Stadium; Saturday 28 September, 1:45pm (5:45am BST)

Match 14: Japan vs Ireland (Pool A), Shizuoka Stadium Ecopa; Saturday 28 September, 4:15pm (8:15am BST)

Match 15: South Africa vs Namibia (Pool B), City of Toyota Stadium; Saturday 28 September, 6:45pm (10:45am BST)

Match 16: Georgia vs Uruguay (Pool D), Kumagaya Rugby Stadium; Sunday 29 September, 2:15pm (6:15am BST)

Match 17: Australia vs Wales (Pool D), Tokyo Stadium; Sunday 29 September, 4:45pm (8:45am BST)

Match 18: Scotland vs Samoa (Pool A), Kobe Misaki Stadium; Monday 30 September, 7:15pm (11:15am BST)

Match 19: France vs USA (Pool C), Fukuoka Hakatanomori Stadium; Wednesday 2 October, 4:45pm (8:45am BST)

Match 20: New Zealand vs Canada (Pool B), Oita Stadium; Wednesday 2 October, 7:15pm (11:15am BST)

Match 21: Georgia vs Fiji (Pool D), Hanazono Rugby Stadium; Thursday 3 October, 2:15pm (6:15am BST)

Match 22: Ireland vs Russia (Pool A), Kobe Misaki Stadium; Thursday 3 October, 7:15pm (11:15am)

Match 23: South Africa vs Italy (Pool B), Shizuoka Stadium Ecopa; Friday 4 October, 6:45pm (10:45am BST)

Match 24: Australia vs Uruguay (Pool D), Oita Stadium; Saturday 5 October, 2:15pm (6:15am BST)

Match 25: England vs Argentina (Pool C), Tokyo Stadium; Saturday 5 October, 5pm (9am BST)

Match 26: Japan vs Samoa (Pool A), City of Toyota Stadium; Saturday 5 October, 7.30pm (11:30am)

Match 27: New Zealand vs Namibia (Pool B), Tokyo Stadium; Sunday 6 October, 1:45pm (5:45am BST)

Match 28: France vs Tonga (Pool C), Kumamoto Stadium; Sunday 6 October, 4:45pm (8:45am BST)

Match 29: South Africa vs Canada (Pool B), Koba Misaki Stadium; Tuesday 8 October, 7:15pm (11:15am BST)

Match 30: Argentina vs USA (Pool C), Kumagaya Rugby Stadium; Wednesday 9 October, 1:45pm (5:45am BST)

Match 31: Scotland vs Russia (Pool A), Shizuoka Stadium Ecopa; Wednesday 9 October, 4:15pm (8:15am BST)

Match 32: Wales vs Fiji (Pool D), Oita Stadium; Wednesday 9 October, 6:45pm (10:45am BST)

Match 33: Australia vs Georgia (Pool D), Shizuoka Stadium Ecopa; Friday 11 October, 7:15pm (11:15am BST)

Match 34: New Zealand vs Italy (Pool B), City of Toyota Stadium; Saturday 12 October, 1:45pm (5:45am BST)

Match 35: England vs France (Pool C), International Stadium Yokohama; Saturday 12 October, 5:15pm (9:15am)

Match 36: Ireland vs Samoa (Pool A), Fukuoka Hakatanomori Stadium; Saturday 12 October, 7:45pm (11:45am BST)

Match 37: Namibia vs Canada (Pool B), Kamaishi Recovery Memorial Stadium; Sunday 13 October, 12:15pm (4:15am BST)

Match 38: USA vs Tonga (Pool C), Hanazono Rugby Stadium; Sunday 13 October, 2:45pm (6:45am BST)

Match 39: Wales vs Uruguay (Pool D), Kumamoto Stadium; Sunday 13 October, 5:15pm (9:15am)

Match 40: Japan vs Scotland (Pool A), International Stadium Yokohama; Sunday 13 October, 7:45pm (11:45am BST)


Match 41: Winner Pool C vs Runner-Up Pool D, Oita Stadium; Saturday 19 October, 4:15pm (8:15am BST)

Match 42: Winner Pool B vs Runner-Up Pool A, Tokyo Stadium; Saturday 19 October, 7:15pm (11:15am BST)

Match 43: Winner Pool D vs Runner-Up Pool C, Oita Stadium; Sunday 20 October, 4:15pm (8:15am BST)

Match 44: Winner Pool A vs Runner-Up Pool B, Tokyo Stadium; Sunday 20 October, 7:15pm (11:15am BST)


Match 45: Winner Quarter-Final 1 vs Winner Quarter-Final 2, International Stadium Yokohama, 5pm (9am BST)

Match 46: Winner Quarter-Final 3 vs Winner Quarter-Final 4, International Stadium Yokohama, 6pm (9am GMT)

Third-Place Play-Off

Match 47: Loser Semi-Final 1 vs Loser Semi-Final 2, Tokyo Stadium; Friday 1 November, 6pm (9am GMT)


Match 48: Winner Semi-Final 1 vs Winner Semi-final 2, International Stadium Yokohama; Saturday 2 November, 6pm (9am)